8-Limbs of Yoga: Pratyahara (World of Silence)

The fifth limb of yoga is called pratyahara and is defined as “the conscious withdrawal of energy from the senses.” Almost without exception yoga students are puzzled by this limb. We seem to inherently understand the basic ethical teachings like satya (the practice of truthfulness), and the basic physical teachings like asana (the practice of […]

The Power of Pranayama

Breath is essential to life. It is the first thing we do when we are born and the last thing we do when we leave. Pranayama is the fourth limb in Patanjali’s eight limb system of yoga. Yogic breathing is a fundamental practice in the study of yoga because pranayama is defined as the “control of life force.” In […]

The Power of Asana: sthira sukham asanam

The physical aspect of yoga is the third step on the path to freedom, and if we’re being honest, the word asana doesn’t refer to the ability to perform a hand stand or an aesthetically impressive backbend, it means ‘seat’—specifically the seat you would take for the practice of meditation. The only alignment instruction Patanjali gives […]

8-Limbs of Yoga: Niyamas

Throughout the month of May, we discussed and learned more about the 5 yamas in the 8-limb Patanjali tradition of yoga in our class through conversation and practice on our mat.  We will continue our journey through all 8-limbs and discuss the Niyamas throughout the month of June.  The Niyamas are practices you can cultivate […]

8-Limbs of Yoga: Yamas

Wow!  What a gift to listen to Deborah Adele as she shared her wisdom and teachings of the 8-limbs of Yoga according to Patanjali and the Yoga Sutras.  I attended her workshop in Omaha the weekend of April 22 & 23.  I sat in awe and reverence as she openly shared her understanding of these […]