8-Limbs of Yoga: Niyamas

Throughout the month of May, we discussed and learned more about the 5 yamas in the 8-limb Patanjali tradition of yoga in our class through conversation and practice on our mat. 

We will continue our journey through all 8-limbs and discuss the Niyamas throughout the month of June.  The Niyamas are practices you can cultivate within yourself.  You can read more about them: An Introduction to the 5 Niyamas

The Niyamas are:

  • Saucha (purification or cleanliness)
  • Santosha (contentment)
  • Tapas (discipline)
  • Svadhyaya (self study)
  • Isvara Pranidhana (devotion or surrendering to a higher power)

Image courtesy of ––––––––––––